Skip to main content

Academic Affairs. Dean, College of Business. Maine Business School (University of Maine) Records

 Record Group
Identifier: UA RG 0006-004-001

Scope and Contents

The record group contains material created and curated by the University of Maine's Maine Business School. The records include administrative material regarding operations of the Maine Business School including: annual reports, lists of standing committees, copies of the MBS Connects newsletters, publicity material, meeting minutes and lists of members from the School's Advisory Board, and meeting minutes and correspondence from the College of Business, Public Policy and Health Executive Committee, Curriculum Development Committee, and Undergraduate Program Curriculum Committee (UPCC), clippings and publicity material, and photographs.

There's also miscellaneous material regarding the D.P. Corbett building, where the Maine Business School is housed, including: photographs, building plans, correspondence, publicity material, and reports. There are also copies of general University of Maine publications, including the: Monthly Crime Updates, published by the Department of Public Safety; The UMaine Disabilities Insider, published by Disability Support Services; and material on diversity.


  • Creation: 1978-2015


Conditions Governing Access

Information on literary rights available in the repository.

Conditions Governing Use

Kept at Fogler Library's offsite storage facility. One week's notice required for retrieval.

Biographical / Historical

Course offerings in business administration and related subjects date back to the early years of the University of Maine with a course in bookkeeping and later a Business Administration major in 1937. However, it was not until 1958 that a School of Business Administration was established in the College of Arts and Sciences with curricula leading to the B.S. degree in Business Administration with major programs in Marketing, Finance, Accounting, and Industrial Management.

In 1965, the School of Business Administration became the College of Business Administration. The College of Business Administration provided a four-year course in business administration with majors in accounting, finance, management, or marketing. The College also provided a graduate program in business administration.

In the fall of 1997, the College of Business Administration combined with other departments, and became the College of Business, Public Policy and Health, an administrative umbrella for programs in business, nursing, public management, and social work. The College of Business Administration was later renamed the Maine Business School. In 2011, as part of the transition from the College becoming a School, both the School of Social Work and School of Economics were transferred from the College of Business, Public Policy and Health to the College of Natural Sciences, Forestry and Agriculture. The School of Nursing had also previously transferred to the College of Natural Sciences, Forestry and Agriculture. The College of Business, Public Policy and Health was disbanded for the 2015-2016 academic year with the Maine Business School taking over much of the functions.

Since 1992, the Maine Business School has been housed in the Donald P Corbett Business Building. The building is named in honor of Donald P. Corbett (Class of 1934) following a gift in honor of Donald by his widow Francelia Corbett (Class of 1934).

In 1958, Professor Robert Paul Shay became the first director of the School of Business Administration. In 1960, Shay was succeeded by Henry Austin Peck, who in 1963, was succeeded by Stanley Devino. In 1965, Devino became the first dean of the College of Business Administration, a position he would hold until his retirement in 1996. Virginia R. Gibson served as interim dean of the College from 1996-1998, before Eric Brucker was appointed dean in 1998 and served until 2002. Daniel Innis served as dean of the College of Business, Public Policy, and Health from 2002-2007. John Mahon served as director of the Maine Business School and dean of the College of Business, Public Policy, and Health from 2007–2010. Mahon was succeeded by Ivan Manev, who was dean of the Maine Business School from 2010-2017. In 2023, Jason Harkin was named the Executive Dean of the Maine Business School. Dr. Harkins had been the Interim Executive Dean since July 2022, and was the Associate Dean of Business before that.


1 box (Full size box)

1 box (Half size box )

Language of Materials



Physically the material is arranged alphabetically.

Immediate Source of Acquisition

The items were transferred to Special Collections on January 11, 2023 by Matthew Curtis, 5723 DPC Building, Orono ME 04473 as Accession #2023-0111.


The processing archivist appraised the records and destroyed duplicate copies of items, material already held by Special Collections, and personnel related material.


Accruals from the Maine Business School are anticipated.

Related Materials

Material related to the Maine Business School can be found in the records of the College of Business Administration which the School was formerly known as (UA RG 0006.004.001.001) and the Department of Public Administration which was part of the College (UA RG 0006.004.003).

Processing Information

Processed by Matthew Revitt, June 2023, Raymond H. Fogler Library Special Collections Department. Processing involved a collection survey and the creation of this finding aid. The material was rehoused into appropriate archival folders. Boxes and folders were numbered and titles added using information from ArchivesSpace.

University of Maine. Maine Business School Records
Matthew Revitt
June 30, 2023
Description rules
Describing Archives: A Content Standard
Language of description
Script of description
Code for undetermined script

Repository Details

Part of the Raymond H. Fogler Library University Archives Repository

5729 Raymond H. Fogler Library
University of Maine
Orono ME 04469-5729 United States