Skip to main content

Livermore Falls Light & Power Company Records (Central Maine Power Company Collection)

Identifier: SpC MS 0302

Scope and Contents

Financial records of a local electric utility in Maine. Included are cashbooks, ledgers, and voucher registers.


  • 1910-1935


Restrictions on Access

Kept at Fogler Library's offsite storage facility. One week's notice required for retrieval.

Terms Governing Use and Reproduction

Information on literary rights available in the repository.

Historical Note

Livermore Falls Light & Power Company in Maine was incorporated by Chapter 472 of the Acts of 1897, approved March 20, 1897. John H. Maxwell, William A. Stuart, John L. Cummings, Daniel J. Bogan and Edmund Eaton were the original corporators. Chapter 101 of 1899 extended the company's charter for two more years. Located in East Livermore, the company was authorized to supply electricity to East Livermore, Livermore and Jay. In 1899 Edwin Riley was president, John H. Maxwell, secretary and treasurer, and Waldo Pettingill was auditor. The company became part of Androscoggin Electric Company in 1935; Androscoggin Electric was acquired by Central Maine Power Company in 1935.


8 ledgers (31-36 cm.)

Language of Materials


Guide to the Livermore Falls Light & Power Company Records (Central Maine Power Company Collection)
In Progress
Brenda Howitson Steeves
March 2005
Description rules
Describing Archives: A Content Standard
Language of description
Script of description
Code for undetermined script
Language of description note

Repository Details

Part of the Raymond H. Fogler Library Special Collections Repository

5729 Raymond H. Fogler Library
University of Maine
Orono ME 04469-5729 United States