Skip to main content

Limerick Water and Electric Company Records (Central Maine Power Company Collection)

Identifier: SpC MS 0297

Scope and Contents

Financial records of a local electric utility in Maine. Included are ledgers, a cashbook, journals, and a check and deposit register.


  • 1907-1926


Restrictions on Access

Kept at Fogler Library's offsite storage facility. One week's notice required for retrieval.

Terms Governing Use and Reproduction

Information on literary rights available in the repository.

Historical Note

The Limerick Water and Electric Company was incorporated in Maine by Chapter 159 of the Acts of 1907, approved March 6, 1907. Original corporators were John F. Moore, Charles G. Moulton, Charles H. Adams, Ira H. Moore, Ralph Clark, and J. Merrill Lord. The company was authorized to furnish water and electricy or gas in the towns of Limerick, Newfield, and Waterboro. The company constructed a dam and hydroelectric power station at a point known as Ledgemere on the Little Ossipee River between Limerick and Waterboro. The company became the Western Maine Power Company in 1916; this company was absorbed by Central Maine Power Company in 1927.


11 ledgers (21-41 cm.)

Language of Materials


Guide to the Limerick Water and Electric Company Records (Central Maine Power Company Collection)
In Progress
Brenda Howitson Steeves
March 2005
Description rules
Describing Archives: A Content Standard
Language of description
Script of description
Code for undetermined script
Language of description note

Repository Details

Part of the Raymond H. Fogler Library Special Collections Repository

5729 Raymond H. Fogler Library
University of Maine
Orono ME 04469-5729 United States